Why is it that when you break in (9) ball or (8) ball and you get the 9/8 ball in it does not count as a win?
I have a complaint!!
Posted in
Billiards
This subject has come up many times, and FoD seem reluctant to change the 9 ball rules on the site. As for 8 ball, neither the US and UK style games include a victory for potting the 8 on the break. In pubs in the UK, people often count it as a win - simply because of the winner stays on system, someone has to pay for the rerack. That doesn't mean that they are correct.
With 8 ball i can understand that it wouldnt count as a win considering that in fly or die we play valey rules. But just as you said in 9 ball it is a win if you pot the nine, and yet in fly or die it is a foul. I was wondering if they would be able to change it to a win considering that they fixed the problem with the racking of the balls (now every rack is different).
That was meant to say potting the 8 is not a victory. The breaker has a choice of a rerack or respotting the 8 ball. Potting the 9 ball is in fact counted as a win, sorry for the typing error.
In 9ball the reason why that if you pot the 9 ball of a break and it is a foul is because ages ago people managed to figure out a "cheat break" so that way they would do it and 9 wud go down and they would win. Loads of people complained about this so flyordie changed it to if you pot the 9 of a break it is a foul :p. I dunno about 8 tho